Photography Turret

Target lost!

Dippin’ in the Punch Bowl

I went on a little road trip last weekend to the Devil’s Punch Bowl, a place with a stunning view and a lovely atmosphere. It’s private, quiet and beatiful, so I took my camera out for a spin.

Would you not want to live here?

Would you not want to live here?

My father-in-law-to-be took us for a walk and told me the story of the unknown sailor, murdered  in 1786 by three men who took his money and tried to sell his clothes. The Sailor’s Stone was erected in his memory and is still there, overlooking the scenery. The three men were hanged in chains six months later, and in 1851 a celtic cross was erected where they had been hung, since the local people became afraid of the area in belief that it was haunted.

Erected In detestation of a barbarous Murder Committed here on an unknown Sailor

Erected
In detestation of a barbarous Murder
Committed here on an unknown Sailor

During our little walk, we were able to walk really closely to some bulls and ponies. Having been chased by a bull once, when I was a kid, I decided not to come too close, but it was still lovely to see them. Shame I didn’t get to see the deer.

What you looking at?

What you looking at?

_DSC0032

_DSC0047

Like most places in the world, one can appreciate the Devil’s Punch Bowl much more when being shown around by someone who knows the area, legends and little quirks, like the rabbit holes, the memorials and the fallen tree.

Help! I fell down and I can't get up!

Help! I fell down and I can’t get up!

As I said goodbye that evening, I knew that I will definitely visit again soon, and take even more photos. Hopefully next time I’ll catch some rabbits, foxes and deer.

Oh, and if you’re going to visit the Devil’s Punch Bowl and bring a dog with you, please make sure to keep it on a leash. Loose dogs scare the wild animals and may give deer heart attacks or cause miscarriages on the female ones. Just something to keep in mind.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 2, 2013 by in Devil's Punch Bowl, Out and About and tagged , , , , , .

I blame myself.

Are you still there?

Hello, friend.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

DDDangerous.com

Divorced, Diseased & Dangerous.

Book of Mohs

The adventures of an softhearted father

Life Becomes Me

I'm spreading my wings and learing to fly

What the Trinkets Told Me

stories from the museum/a museum of stories

wrongwithlife

The immeasurable terrors of her mind...

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

THE VIBE 101

DAILY DISCUSSIONS. DAILY EXPERIENCES. DAILY LIFE.

Posso pedir?

Esse é mais um blog sobre comida!

thekiwigoddess

me talking shite, as usual.

theanonyblogger

Ethereal ramblings of a pensive mind

